It’s Monday My Dudes! pt.12

This week, I had the pleasure of reading The Poet X  by Elizabeth Acevedo. This is one that has actually come up in our class readings more than once and I just realized that I accidentally and unknowingly own it! I was so excited because it is a verse novel and I have only read one other story written this way (Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson). I love finding new formats and reading stories where the voice isn’t generic. In this story, a young girl named Xiomara is trying to find her place in the world. Should she be apart of her mother’s religion? Should she stay silent and hold her tongue? Should she just be herself? These are all important questions that so many students will face each day. This story shows inner conflicts in such a unique way. It feels like a stream of consciousness as you feel how her thoughts are organized through the poetry. I am a firm believer that everyone should read a verse novel at least once in their lives. I also think that this story could help both female and male students answer questions that they are struggling with. It is an especially good book for girls in my opinion but I would recommend it to all students, and classmates, equally. It really helps students understand that it takes time to find yourself.

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑